Welcome to the website of the Liverpool Society of Anaesthetists. Here you will find information about the Society, past and present.

The Society was very sad to hear the news of the passing of Dr J.E. Riding CBE at the age of 94 years. Dr Riding or 'Dinge' as he was known to his friends, was Reader in Anaesthesia at the University of Liverpool becoming editor of the BJA for 10 years from 1963. He became President of the LSA between 1970-72 (latterly becoming a Life Vice President) and Dean of the Faculty of Anaesthetists of the Royal College of Surgeons (the precursor of our College) from 1976-1979. Not only was he highly respected for his academic achievements but also for his abilities as a practicing anaesthetist. All this came with modesty and great humour with the consequence that he was a role model for all around him.

Next Meeting

Thursday 11th October 2018 - Liverpool Medical Institution at 7pm

Joint Meeting with the MSA

'Rounded with A Sleep: Why We Need To Talk About Fatigue’

Dr Michael Farquhar, Consultant in Sleep Medicine at Evelina London Children’s Hospital

Dr Farquhar will discuss how fatigue affects the body and the potential impact on anaesthetists and patients.

In application to the RCA for 1 CPD point

To book your place, please follow the link

Last Meeting

Wednesday 9th May 2018 - Liverpool Medical Institution at 7pm

AGM & Presidential Address

"Charlatans & Quackery - The Benefit of Hindsight"

Dr Clare Howard seen after her Presidential Address.

You can find details of where and when meetings are held and what they are about.

Parking for the Liverpool Medical Institution is easy to find in the University car parks either opposite the Catholic Cathedral or the Cambridge pub in Mulberry St.

About the society...

The Society was founded in 1930, two years before the Association of Anaesthetists and its motto ‘Dilectis Somnum’ means prized, beloved or delightful sleep.

We hope you will come back to the site regularly but more importantly come to the meetings and meet with friends and colleagues from around the region. While you are here, why not join the society?

Follow @LSOA_society

Officers of the Society (2018-2019 session)

President: Dr Edwin Djabatey

Immediate Past President: Dr Clare Howard
Honorary Secretary: Dr Gemma Roberts
Honorary Treasurer: Dr Richard Craig
Life Vice-Presidents: Dr R Ahearn, Dr A Florence, Dr T Gilbertson, Prof RS Jones OBE, Professor Jennifer M Hunter MBE

Webmaster: Dr Ewen Forrest

Email a friend about the LSA

Last updated: 14 August, 2018 LSA