Welcome to the website of the Liverpool Society of Anaesthetists. Here you will find information about the Society, past and present.

Next Meeting

October 2022

To be confirmed.


Last Meeting

Thursday 26th May 2022 - Liverpool Medical Institution at 7pm


The 6th T.Cecil Gray BJA Medal Lecture

'Defining and Measuring the Quality of Recovery after Surgery'

Professor Paul Myles, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia

Prof Myles (L) was presented with the T.Cecil Gray BJA Medal by Dr Frank Potter following his insightful lecture discussing the measurement of quality of outcomes from surgery.

You can find details of where and when meetings are held and what they are about.

Parking for the Liverpool Medical Institution is easy to find in the University car parks either opposite the Catholic Cathedral or the Cambridge pub in Mulberry St.

About the society...

The Society was founded in 1930, two years before the Association of Anaesthetists and its motto ‘Dilectis Somnum’ means prized, beloved or delightful sleep.

We hope you will come back to the site regularly but more importantly come to the meetings and meet with friends and colleagues from around the region. While you are here, why not join the society?

Follow @LSOA_society

Officers of the Society (2021-2022 session)

President: Dr Frank Potter

President-elect: Dr Pat Mullen
Honorary Secretary: Dr Lorraine Smith
Honorary Treasurer: Dr Matt Stott

Life Vice-Presidents: Dr R Ahearn, Dr A Florence, Dr T Gilbertson, Prof RS Jones OBE, Professor Jennifer M Hunter MBE, Dr J Fazackerley, Dr E Forrest.

Webmaster: Dr Ewen Forrest

Email a friend about the LSA

Last updated: 29 May, 2022 LSA