Committee Meeting



































Minutes from Meeting 27th February 2009

The Trainee’s Prize

Prize Presentations by Trainees in competition for the Jackson Rees Medal

The meeting was opened by the President, Professor Hunter, who welcomed everyone and congratulated Dr Janice Fazackerley on her appointment to the post of Regional Adviser for Anaesthesia in Mersey Region. Professor Hunter then introduced the competition and the three judges for the evening, Professor Ron Jones, Dr Janice Fazackerley and Dr Chris Parker.

The four papers presented were:

1) Complete Audit Cycle - Difficult Airway Trolleys and Cricothyroidotomy Training. Dr. Sally Hargreaves

2) A randomised controlled trial of intrathecal diamorphine vs intravenous morphine for analgesia following posterior thoracolumbar spinal surgery. Dr. Claire Hammell

3) Randomised controlled trial comparing the effects of oxytocin IV bolus vs oxytocin IV infusion on cardiac output during Caesarean section. Dr. Claire Mollitt

4) Cardiopulmonary Exercise (CPX) Testing in the Mersey Region. Dr. Sam Sandow

The judges retired during which time Professor Hunter gave the audience some of her thoughts on public speaking. She acknowledged firstly that, however experienced the speaker, nerves always play a part and spoke of her own entry into this competition, which was unsuccessful perhaps partly because of the poor quality of her slides! This was an important aspect of any talk and slides should be uncrowded and attractive and ideally the audience should be guided around them by the speaker. The best presentations for this competition are ideally randomised controlled trials which should be clinically relevant. Audits can be presented but unless they ‘close the loop’ with a message of a change in practice, they will be less favoured by the judges. Comments from the floor highlighted the importance of speaking loudly towards the audience and varying the tone of speech which attracts more attention. Professor Hunter commented that the best speakers tell a story in an apparently informal way to which it is very easy to listen. Keeping to time, although sometimes difficult, is always important and spending that limited time on results rather than a prolonged introduction would be more interesting for judges and audiences. Finally, being the ‘owning’ author is always ideal but not vital and crowding the title with multiple authors is unnecessary.

The judges returned and Professor Jones announced the result. The first prize of a Jackson Rees Medal and £300 was awarded to Claire Hammell and the second prize of £175 was awarded to Claire Mollitt. The meeting finished at 8.30pm.

Ewen Forrest Hon Sec

6th April 2009

Last updated: 9 November, 2011 © LSA